SEVEN

Everyday In Everything

Earth Day And The Connection To Soul Faith

We’re only a few days away from Earth Day.

As I sit in my backyard wondering how our pet rabbit and the snails, that multiply faster than my middle school students, fit into the grand scheme of things, I realize that I do have some responsibility to care for the environment that produces so much vitality around me.

I read the history of this event, http://www.earthday.org/earth-day-history-movement, and though I don’t share the same worldview with many of the organizers of the movement, I think it is wise to be concerned about careful stewardship of natural resources.

I like clean skies. I like healthy food. I like the shade of trees.

And I like to think that I’m using less of the world’s resources so more of the world’s destitute can have enough to live.

God is summing up all things in Him. His salvation does more than save souls from sin’s pollution. It saves creation from being destroyed by sinful acts, one gesture at a time.

I hope more and more Christians see this, and take part in thousands upon thousands of glorified acts of environmental service. There has been too much compartmentalizing of faith, restricting it to just the work of the soul.

The irony of soul faith is that it is a working faith; it shows itself in visible ways so no one can criticize it for being a private affair with God.

God promised to redeem mankind, and free creation from the bondage it is under. He has redeemed multitudes of the world’s population, and it is within the realm of possibility to redeem much of creation as well. We, the temporary stewards of this Earth, should expect to do no less.

Question:

What acts of environmental stewardship have you been involved with? Do you think there is a rising consciousness among Christians to care for the environment? 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Earth Day And The Connection To Soul Faith

  1. Pingback: How Earth Day is Important | LAND sds Sustainability Voice

Leave a comment